Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 6: Peak Of Perfection

Primal Silhouettes by American composer Brice Johnson opens this epic program and contrasts the modern voice with symphonic warhorses from the nineteenth century.

Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto featuring pianist Yun-Chin Zhou is considered by many to be the perfect Romantic era concerto. Brahms’ First Symphony is thought of as the first perfect Romantic era symphony.

Hear the contrasting styles of three brilliant composers at the peak of perfection on the same program.



Brice Johnson, composer


Yun-Chin Zhou, piano


Brice Johnson

Primal Silhouettes,
World Premiere


Piano Concerto No 1, op. 23
in Bb minor

Yun-Chin Zhou, Piano



Symphony No. 1, op. 68
in C minor


For tickets please call 479-452-7575 or visit

Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 5: The Gospel According To Swing

Absolutely without a doubt, one of our coolest, highest energy concerts ever…guaranteed.

Jazz great Byron Stripling returns to Fort Smith for another spectacular concert of exuberant music. The contrasting styles of Gospel and Swing meet the Symphony in this fantastic concert also featuring R&B organist Bobby Floyd. Don’t miss this sell-out event.


Byron Stripling, trumpet



Symphony No. 5 “Reformation” 
(Mvt. IV)

Down By The Riverside, Sometimes I Feel Like A Motherless Child, How Great Thou Art, Oh What A Beautiful City, You’ve Been So Good, Get Right Church, Battle Hymn of the Republic, Come Sunday, Mahalia Jackson Tribute, He’s Got The Whole World, Just A Closer Walk With Thee, Amazing Grace, When The Saints Go Marchin’ In.

For tickets please call 479-452-7575 or visit

Friends of the NRA 2016

Old Fort Friends of NRA Fundraising Banquet

Home Show 2016

  • Friday, Feb 20th, 2015
    2:00 pm – 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, Feb 21st, 2015
    10:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Sunday, Feb 22nd, 2015
    12:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 4: Jupiter & Beyond

Exceptional music for chamber orchestra will delight and astonish you. Beethoven’s happy musical thoughts contrast beautifully with the haunting lyricism of the music by Czech composer Bohuslav Martinu.

Theresa Delaplain, Principal Oboist of the Fort Smith Symphony, will be the soloist in the rarely heard Martinu Oboe Concerto composed in 1955.

Mozart’s greatest symphony and possibly the most magnificent symphony of the classical period will close this thrilling program.


Theresa Delaplain, oboe



Overture to The Creatures of Prometheus, op. 43


Concerto for Oboe (1955), Theresa Delaplain, Oboe  



Symphony No. 41, K. 551, C Major “Jupiter”

For tickets please call 479-452-7575 or visit 

Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 3: Holiday Memories

Tonight’s concert features many of the classic holiday favorites we remember from our very first Christmas celebrations. The Fort Smith Chorale will be featured in popular choruses from Handel’s Messiah.

Fort Smith Symphony Concertmaster Elizabeth Lyon, Don Bailey, and Grant Nesbit will perform sacred and popular holiday hits helping make this a Christmas celebration to remember. Be sure to purchase your tickets early, as this concert will sell out months in advance.


Don Bailey, saxophone


Grant Nesbit, vocalist


Fort Smith Chorale


Elizabeth Lyon,concertmaster

For tickets please call 479-452-7575 or visit

Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker

Bring the whole family for the sweetest Christmas celebration of the season! Experience the exquisite artistry of world-class Russian dancers, playful puppets and the unmatched splendor of hand crafted sets and costumes. Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker is the holiday tradition that brings the Christmas spirit to life! New York Times raves, “Real beauty!” and Los Angeles Times, “Bravura expertise!” Get your seats now for Tchaikovsky’s masterpiece at

The Show starts at 7pm, Doors open at 6pm.  The show is 2 hours long with a 20 min intermission with Moscow Ballet branded items.

Fort tickets or for more information please visit:’s_Great_Russian_Nutcracker.html  or you may call- 479-788-8932  or 1-800-965-9324

Ticket Prices range from $175 to $28

Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 2: Around The World With Disney

The entire family will love this concert featuring orchestra scores and visual still images provided directly by the Disney Music Group. Experience classic Disney melodies performed live by a full symphony orchestra with video projected images from some of the most well known Disney classics of all time.


Contrasting senses of sight and sound come together for an evening of film and music favorites.


Music from “Fantasia” including Mussorgsky: Night on Bald Mountain, Beethoven: Pastorale Symphony, and Ponchielli: Dance of the Hours, as well as music from Tarzan, The Little Mermaid, Hercules, Mary Poppins, Beauty and the Beast, Rescuers Down Under, Aladdin, Mulan, Hunchback of Notre Dame, and The Lion King

For ticket please call 479-452-7575 or visit

Fort Smith Women’s Living Expo

Join us for an exciting weekend of Food Fashion and Fun. Over 200 exhibitors and special events with wide variety of interests for today’s women and their families.women expo

Fort Smith Symphony


Concert 1: The Greatest Generation

The season begins with a powerful program of music to commemorate the greatest struggle of humankind in history – World War II.

The concert opens with film composer John Williams’ stirring version of the National Anthem. Resilience by Pulitzer Prize nominated composer Michael Schelle will be given its world premiere performance. Reflecting the camps at Dachau to the horrors of the Pacific, Resilience is a commentary about conflict, suffering, and our ultimate ability to endure and flourish.

Schelle’s contemporary style contrasts thoughtfully with the greatest of all American symphonies and a celebration of peace, the Symphony No. 3 by Aaron Copland.

Alaina Rea, viola
Joshua DeVries, cello

Michael Schelle, composer


John Williams/Smith

Star Spangled Banner


Resilience – Double Concerto for Viola, Cello and Orchestra (World Premiere Performance commemorating the 70th Anniversary of the end of World War II)

Alaina Rea, viola
Joshua DeVries, cello



Symphony No. 3 (1945)

For tickets call 479-452-7575 or visit